Choose your language  •  BA  EN  DE  FR  PT

THE BRIDGE OF SIGHS

Jean-Luc Godard

In Sarajevo kristallisierte sich, am Ende eines Jahrhunderts geprägt von Eisen und Feuer – das auch dort begann – die brutale Konfrontation von realer und symbolischer Gewalt heraus. Ethnische Säuberungen, der Triumpf von Konsumgütern, die Diktatur spektakulärer Bildern, die in einem höllischen Ballett durch die Medien tanzten, in dessen Epizentrum diese Stadt zu sich selbst fand. Jedoch versprach Sarajevo das Gegenteil von alldem. Deswegen verdient die Stadt diesen melancholischen Gruß.

Jean-Luc Godard

 

Jean-Luc Godard wurde 1930 in Paris geboren. Als einer der unangefochten größten lebenden Filmemacher führt der Dichter, Kritiker und Philosoph Jean-Luc Godard die Arbeit an seinem monumentalen und komplexen Werk fort. Seit den 90er-Jahren nimmt die Untersuchung des Verhältnisses zwischen Kino und Geschichte bei Jean-Luc Godards Forschungsarbeiten einen zentralen Platz ein: das große Werk HISTOIRE(S) DU CINÉMA und eine Reihe ähnlich angelegter Filme (Allemagne 90 neuf zero, Les Enfants jouent à la Russie, 2 Gois 50 ans de Cinéma Francais, The old Place, L’Origine du XXie Siècle, Dans le Noir du Temps...) befassen sich mit der Infragestellung jener Kräfte, die mit Schwert und Wort seit einem Jahrhundert das Schicksal der Menschen bestimmt haben. Als stets fruchtbarer und abenteuerlustiger Filmemacher hat Jean-Luc Godard mit einem ruhelosen Gewissen seit Beginn der Belagerung von Sarajevo die entscheidenden Dramen, die sich dort abspielten, wahrgenommen. Mit allen materiellen und künstlerischen Mitteln hat er vor allem mit den vom Centre André Malraux in Sarajevo koproduzierten Filmen Je vous salue Sarajevo, JLG/JLG, Forever Mozart und Notre Musi que versucht, auf die Schrecken vergangener und noch immer akuter Bedrohungen hinzuweisen.

 

 

Cinétévé

 

Eine unabhängige Produktionsfirma, die 1982 von Fabienne Servan Schreiber gegründet wurde, die bis heute Geschäftsführerin der Firma ist.

Die Firma hat über 400 Stunden internationaler preisgekrönter Programme produziert: Kino-Spielfilme, Dokumentarfilme und Fernsehfilme, Prime-Time Fernsehdramen, Berichte, Live-Aufzeichnungen, Fernsehmagazine, Kurzprogramme und Projekte im Bereich der Neuen Medien.

Im Kinobereich möchten wir hervorheben: Calle 54, ein Musikfilm des Emmy-Award-Gewinners Fernando Trueba, der von der New York Times zum drittbesten Film des Jahres 2000 gewählt, von Miramax in den USA ins Kino gebracht und sowohl für das Festival in Venedig, als auch in Toronto ausgewählt wurde; Daugther of Keltoum, von Medi Charef, ausgewählt für das Toronto Film Festival 2001; und Vivre me tue, von Jean-Pierre Sinapi, der nicht nur in San Sebastian aufgeführt, sondern beim Cabourg Festival 2003 auch den ersten Preis gewonnen hat.

Im Bereich der Omnibusprojekte heben wir hervor: Lumière and Company,  der 40 Regisseure in einer Hommage an das Kino der Lumière Brothers zusammenführte, unter anderem mit David Lynch, Spike Lee, James Ivory, John Boorman, Michael Haneke, Arthur Penn, Oshima und Yang Zi-Mou. Der Film lief auf über 40 Festivals; außerdem Visual Telegrams, 30 Filmemacher für die Umwelt, darunter Fatih Akin, Rachid Bouchareb, Isabel Coixet, Ronit Elkabetz, Amos Gitaï, Elia Suleiman, Jaco Van Dormael und Jia ZangKe, aufgeführt bei der Copenhagen Climate Conference (2009) unter der Schirmherrschaft der UN.

Fabrice Aragno

Jean-Paul Battaggia

Paul Grivas

PRODUZENTEN

L'Atelier à Lausanne

Choose your language  •  BA  EN  DE  FR  PT

THE BRIDGE OF SIGHS

Jean-Luc Godard

Sarajevo crystalized, at the end of an iron and fire century - that also began there - the brutal collision of real and symbolic violence. Ethnic cleansing, triumph of commodity, dictatorship of spectacular images whirled over in a hellish ballet, in which epicenter the city found itself.

Yet Sarajevo promised the opposite, that’s why it deserves this melancholic salutation.

Jean-Luc Godard

 

Jean-Luc Godard was born in Paris in 1930. Without question one of the greatest filmmakers alive, co-founder of the New Wave in the early Sixties, Jean-Luc Godard has continued, through image and sound, to pursue the vast and complex oeuvre of a critical poet and philosopher. Since the Nineties, a central dimension of Godard’s experimentation has been the questioning of the relation between film and history: his major opus Histoire(s) du cinéma and his ensemble of works relating to this issue (Germany Year 90 Nine Zero, The Kids Play Russian, Twice Fifty Years of French Cinema, The Old Place, Origins of the 21st Century, In the Blackness of Time…) are all part of this questioning of the forces that have driven human destiny through force and words over the past century. Still a prolific and adventurous filmmaker (he has recently completed a 3D film), a concerned conscience, right from the start of the siege of Sarajevo, Godard detected the decisive tragedies at play there. By all means – both material and artistic – he has sought to alert us to the terrible meaning of what threatened, of what is still at threat, notably in the films Je vous salue Sarajevo, JLG/JLG, Forever Mozart, and Our Music, co-produced by the Centre André Malraux in Sarajevo.

 

 

Cinétévé

 

An independent audiovisual production company set up in 1982 by Fabienne Servan Schreiber, who has been director of the company ever since.

The company has produced over 400 hours of international award-winning programmes: theatrically released feature films, feature-length documentary and fictions, prime-time television dramas, documentary reports, live performance recordings, television magazines, short programmes and new media.

In the field of cinema, we may notably cite: Calle 54, a music feature film by Emmy award-winner Fernando Trueba, voted 3rd Best Film of the Year by the New York Times in 2000, distributed by Miramax in the USA, and selected at Venice and Toronto; Daughter of Keltoum, by Mehdi Charef, selected at the Toronto Film Festival in 2001; and Vivre me tue, by Jean-Pierre Sinapi, selected at the San Sebastian Festival in 2002 and 1st Prize winner at the Cabourg Festival in 2003.

And, in the field of collective films: Lumière and Company, which brought together 40 directors in homage to the cinema of the Lumière Brothers, including David Lynch, Spike Lee, James Ivory, John Boorman, Michael Haneke, Arthur Penn, Oshima and Yang Zi-Mou. Selected in over 40 festivals; and Visual Telegrams, 30 filmmakers for the environment, including Fatih Akin, Rachid Bouchareb, Isabel Coixet, Ronit Elkabetz, Amos Gitaï, Elia Suleiman, Jaco Van Dormael and Jia ZangKe, presented at the Copenhagen Climate Conference (2009) under the patronage of the UN.

Fabrice Aragno

Jean-Paul Battaggia

Paul Grivas

PRODUCTION

L'Atelier à Lausanne